Welcome to the Maltese Islands
discover Cottonera
Fort St. Angelo Vittoriosa Senglea Cospicua Kalkara Cottonera Region Cottonera Today
The Cottonera Life Style
Churches and Chapels
Church of the Immaculate Conception (Parish Church)
Chapel of St John the Elimosinier (Almoner or Almsgiver)
Church of St Paul
Church of St Theresa and Friary
Church and Monastery of Sta Margerita
Chapel of the Frangiscan Sisters
Chapel of the Ursuline Sisters
Statues and Niches
Calendar of Events
Tourist Services
Meet you in Cottonera
Cottonera Crafts and Artisan Works

Church of St Theresa and Friary
The church and friary of the Discalced Carmelites was built in 1625 on a site bought by Bishop Cagliares and it was officially consecrated in 1787. For over two centuries it was the only church and friary of the Discalced Carmelitines in Malta. In 1681 an Oratory was added and some rooms were built to serve as restrooms for the Knights.

Initially St Theresa’s Convent was used as a language college that specialised in oriental languages – particularly Arabic. Leading professors of oriental languages often lived and lectured here and Discalced Carmelitine Friars were often sent to Malta in order to familiarise themselves with the particular language before leaving for the Holy Land, the Orient or the Far East. Mikiel Anton Vassalli, who is recognised as the father of the Maltese Language, studied Arabic in this College.

Underground passages (new blocked) link this convent to certain parts of Vittoriosa – possibly the Inquisitor’s Palace.
discover Cottonera
discover Cottonera