Welcome to the Maltese Islands
discover Cottonera
Fort St. Angelo Vittoriosa Senglea Cospicua Kalkara Cottonera Region Cottonera Today
From Hammuna to Borgo del Castello - Birgu
Città Nuova
Città Vittoriosa
The Inquisition
The Collegiate Issue
Historical Sites - Collachio
La Valette's Magisterial Palace
The Auberges
Palace of the Conventual Chaplains
Holy Infirmary
The Castellania
The Armoury and Civil Hospital
The Bishop's Palace and Curia
The Universitá
Siculo – Norman House
Great Siege Monument
Historical Sites - Marina Wharf
Historical Sites - Other

Vittoriosa Local Council,
Couvre Porte,
Vittoriosa, CSP 09
Tel: 2166 2166
E-mail: [email protected]
Holy Infirmary

Coat of Arms of CML's Isle Adam

(now the Monastery of the Bendectine nuns of Santa Scolastica)

The Order established its Hospital – the Holy Infirmary – in 1533, sparing no resources for its construction and administration. Renowned in Europe for its efficiency, it was enlarged in 1538 with the addition of a third storey, and later linked to Kalkara Creek by means of a tunnel.

The Hospital admitted only male patients but also catered for pilgrims, orphans and foundlings – the latter being brought up by two women who were employed for this purpose.

During the 1565 Siege, the Infirmary became overcrowded and had to distribute its patients amongst the Auberges and private houses in town. The Infirmary closed in 1575 when the Order moved its hospital to Valletta. The premises were handed over to the Benedictine nuns of Santa Scolastica in 1643.
discover Cottonera
discover Cottonera