Welcome to the Maltese Islands
discover Cottonera
Fort St. Angelo Vittoriosa Senglea Cospicua Kalkara Cottonera Region Cottonera Today
From Hammuna to Borgo del Castello - Birgu
Città Nuova
Città Vittoriosa
The Inquisition
The Collegiate Issue
Historical Sites - Collachio
La Valette's Magisterial Palace
The Auberges
Palace of the Conventual Chaplains
Holy Infirmary
The Castellania
The Armoury and Civil Hospital
The Bishop's Palace and Curia
The Universitá
Siculo – Norman House
Great Siege Monument
Historical Sites - Marina Wharf
Historical Sites - Other

Vittoriosa Local Council,
Couvre Porte,
Vittoriosa, CSP 09
Tel: 2166 2166
E-mail: [email protected]
The Bishop’s Palace and Curia
The Bishop’s Palace in Vittoriosa was bought from the Gian Francesco Abela family in 1542 and later enlarged by Bishop Bellaguer. Annexed to the Bishop’s Curia was the hall of the ecclesiastical tribunal, together with the prison.

When the Order moved to Valletta in 1572 it made it clear that it wanted to distance itself from the Bishop who retained his Curia in Vittoriosa and used St Lawrence Church as an alternative to the Mdina Cathedral. In the meantime, the Bishop’s Palace underwent considerable restoration works even up to the time of Bishop Cagliares (1615-33) before he moved his seat and the Curia to Valletta in 1620.

Eventually the building was let as a public house until it was once again taken over and restored by the Curia.
discover Cottonera
discover Cottonera